Skip to content

Our man in Brazil: Part 2

July 7, 2010

Welcome to the second instalment from your favourite blogger’s favourite blogger. Oli got angrier than Felipe Melo after “Our man in Brazil (v.1)” got more hits in a day than he gets in a month. Thankfully he’s decided to let me post again. Hope you enjoy.

The first tune is by Marcelo de Dois, this guy is huge in Brazil, his work fuses samba and rock with hip-hop. His song below, Desafabo, samples the classic samba track from Claudia – Deixa eu dizer.

The Twelves are two young DJ’s from Rio, who unfortunately for me work mainly in Europe. My mate Pat Vieira told me about them, and I stumbled across the essential mix they did for Radio 1 here, it is sick, download it. They’re said to be South America’s answer to Daft Punk, and you’ll be hearing a lot more from them in the next few years I’m sure.

My final offering for today is from my man Jorge Ben Jor, I love this song, I think I’ve heard it sampled on a drum’n’bass track before from DJ Patife. Well, this is the original and best version. Jorge’s music captures the spirit of Brazil perfectly. When you hear this song all you wanna do is go to the beach, drink a caipirinha, and act like a pest. Nothing could be more Brazilian.

One last thing, you have this to watch this outrageous video. As soon as my nigga Kai saw it he booked a one way plane ticket to Brazil…

Ate mais, abraços

One Comment leave one →
  1. ken's younger brother permalink
    July 7, 2010 5:39 pm

    i love you ken.

Leave a Reply

